You can get a police report for a car accident in Pittsburgh by contacting the agency that responded to the crash. Some agencies make this process easy, and may even allow you to request a copy online.
If you did not call the police to report your accident when it happened, you will need to call them and follow their instructions on how to file a report. Alternatively, you can file an online report within a few days of the accident.
For help getting the police report for your wreck, contact the car accident lawyers at Berger and Green at 412-661-1400 today.
Do I Have to Report My Car Crash?
In Pennsylvania, the law requires you to file a report if:
- Someone suffered an injury or died in an accident; or
- Any vehicle involved required towing from the scene.
You will also need a police report to file an insurance claim, in many cases. This is true even if you are only pursuing compensation for your damages from your no-fault insurance policy.
For a free legal consultation, call 412-661-1400
How Do I Get a Report Filed by Pennsylvania State Police?
The Pennsylvania State Police (PSP) respond to many of the accidents on interstates and other major roadways around Pittsburgh. If the PSP investigated your crash, you can request your police report online.
To get your report, you will need:
- The case number of the report; or
- The date of your crash and your last name.
You will also need to:
- Pay a fee of $22 with a credit card, debit card, or electronic bank transfer; and
- Affirm you were involved in the crash in question.
If you would rather not request the police report online, you can print and mail a request form instead. You will need to complete the application and mail it to the address on the form with a check for $22 made out to the Commonwealth of Pennsylvania.
It takes about 15 days for reports to get processed and become available online or via mail. You will most likely be unable to get a police report before this period passes.
How Do I Get a Police Report From Another Agency?
In addition to the PSP, a number of other police agencies operate in and around the Pittsburgh area. Allegheny County Police Department, the Pittsburgh Bureau of Police, the Port Authority Police, and others all respond to car accidents.
Each agency—and even each borough—has its own policy about how to request a copy of a police report. You can learn more by calling the general police information number or following the instructions the police gave you at the scene. Many police officers will give you a card with the case number and other pertinent information on it for this reason.
It should take about two weeks before your report becomes available, although some investigations may take longer than others. Once this time period passes, you can contact the police department for a copy. Most police departments around Pittsburgh require a fee for a report.
Click to contact our personal injury lawyers today
Why Is the Police Report Important in a Pittsburgh Car Accident Case?
Police reports often provide essential evidence in a Pittsburgh car accident case. If you are seeking additional compensation outside of your no-fault policy, the police report can help you establish who caused your wreck and is liable for your damages.
In addition, you may be able to file a claim for property damage and other accident expenses against the at-fault driver no matter what type of no-fault coverage you opted for. If you suffered serious injuries, chose full tort coverage, or meet another limited tort exception, you might qualify for pain and suffering damages.
Because of this, we need a copy of the police report to help us prove the other driver acted negligently and caused your accident and injuries. Unless there are other witnesses or a video of the crash, this is sometimes the best evidence we have to prove the liable motorist broke a traffic law and caused the accident.
Complete a Free Case Evaluation form now
How Can I Talk to a Pittsburgh Car Accident Attorney About My Accident?
The car accident attorneys at Berger and Green offer free case reviews to Pittsburgh crash victims. If we accept your case, we can get a copy of your police report for you and file your claim. We work with all our clients on a contingency basis, meaning you owe us no attorney’s fees unless we win your case.
Call us today at 412-661-1400 for your complimentary consultation.
Call or text 412-661-1400 or complete a Free Case Evaluation form